WTF Do You Even Eat? Spelt Waffles!

This is a question all of us have gotten so many times that the awkward chuckle elicited by the title is almost reflexive. Especially when we’re larger! So I’m starting this little column to address that question…well, that and to spread some awesome recipes of course!

This one is one of my FAVORITE breakfasts. I eat some tofeggs with it when I know I’ll be super active that day, but for most of my days it’s more than enough to get me through four hours until lunchtime. The nutty flavor of spelt tastes fantastic with real maple syrup and a bit of Earth Balance or homemade vegan butter…mmmmmmm.

It works a lot like Bisquick. I actually got the idea for and expanded the base recipe from The Homemade Vegan Pantry by Miyoko Schinner (which is an amazing book and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to drop the cost of their convenience foods) and it works wonders. I can whip up a batch of the base mix at any time and just whisk some soymilk in for a filling and fantastic breakfast!

Just a note: I am nowhere close to a professional food photographer, so I hope that you’ll trust that my recipes taste better than they look. Hopefully this blog will help me learn some about food presentation and photography, but for now bear with me while I learn.

20160227_115233

Spelt Pancake and Waffle Instamix

  • 2 cups spelt flour (you can get this in bulk!)
  • 2.5 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 2 tbsp vegan sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon or nutmeg (optional but delicious!)
  1. Whisk all of the ingredients together or combine in a clean and dry food processor until evenly distributed. You can store this in your freezer for up to a year or your pantry for up to 3 months!

To use: Works pretty similarly to the original base recipe. For pancakes, whisk 1.5 parts instamix with 1 part soy milk. 1.5 cups mix + 1 cup nondairy milk = about 4-5 (1/3 cup of batter) pancakes.

For waffles, 1 part mix to 1 part nondairy milk. 1 cup mix + 1 cup milk = about 3 (1/2 cup of batter) waffles (which is the size my waffle maker recommends, check your manual to see what yours needs!).

Either way, whisk the nondairy milk in and give it a few minutes to let the flax seeds do their magic. If you’re making the pancakes, fry them in a dry skillet on medium high heat for 1-3 minutes on each side (depending on your stove!). If you’re making the waffles, whisk, set, and follow the directions on your waffle maker. I usually cook mine on a “4” which is 4 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

